screen-shot-2016-12-08-at-15-52-31A successful scheme to introduce 20mph speed limits on roads near County Durham schools could be extended.

Part-time limits are already being put in place near more than 30 schools across the county following the launch of the initiative in 2014.

Now members of Durham County Council’s Cabinet are being asked to approve a list of 33 more schools to be included in the scheme.

The schools have been selected based on factors including traffic speeds, accident data and potential risk to pedestrians.

Cllr Brian Stephens, Durham County Council’s Cabinet member for neighbourhoods and local partnerships, said: “Lower speed limits have now been implemented at almost all of the schools chosen for the first phase of the scheme.

“This is not only ahead of schedule but also under budget. That’s why, earlier this year, Cabinet was able to agree that the money we have left should be spent on doubling the number of schools covered by the scheme.

“Our aim is to improve road safety and promote a healthy and active lifestyle by encouraging more people to walk or cycle instead of using the car.”

The project is funded by a one-off Public Health Grant of £952,850 and is accompanied by an education programme which aims to make children more road aware, promote cycling and walking and increase speed awareness among motorists.

Cabinet meets at County Hall on Wednesday, 14 December.

If the recommendations are approved, part-time 20mph speed limits would be introduced on roads near the following schools:


Annfield Plain Infant School, Annfield Plain

Annfield Plain Junior School, Annfield Plain

Byron Sixth Form College, Peterlee

Chester-le-Street C of E Primary, Chester-le-Street

Cockton Hill Infant and Junior School, Bishop Auckland

Consett Academy, Consett

Delves Lane Primary, Consett

Easington Academy, Easington

Easington Colliery Primary School, Easington

Framwellgate Moor Primary, Durham

Framwellgate School, Durham

Green Lane C of E Primary, Barnard Castle

Neville’s Cross Primary, Durham

New College, Durham

Our Lady and St Thomas RCVA Primary, Willington

Our Lady of the Rosary RCVA Primary, Peterlee

Our Lady Star of the Sea RCVA Primary, Horden

Pelton Community Primary, Pelton

Ropery Walk Primary, Seaham

Roseberry Primary and Nursery School, Pelton

Sacriston Primary, Sacriston

Seaham Harbour Nursery, Seaham

Shield Row Primary, Stanley

Shotton Hall Primary, Peterlee

St Bede’s Catholic Comprehensive School, Peterlee

St Bede’s RCVA Comprehensive School, Lanchester

St Joseph’s RCVA Primary, Stanley

St Leonard’s Catholic School and Sixth Form College, Durham

Tanfield School Specialist College of Science and Engineering, Stanley

Teesdale School, Barnard Castle

The Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee

Whitworth Park School and Sixth Form College, Spennymoor

Willington Primary, Willington

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

To Top